This Blog
This Blog

05 September 2003

Dave Groom to show in new Rex Irwin space

After his current show finishes, Dave Groom will show more new works - The Two Forests - at the Rex Irwin Gallery Shop (Ground Floor, 38 Queen St, Woollahra NSW). The show opens on 15 November 2003, 2pm - 4pm, and continues until 6 December 2003. You can see some of Dave Groom’s work at:

Stephen Newton receives Highly Commended at Sculpture show

At the recent Thursday Plantation East Coast Sculpture Show in Ballina, Stephen Newton received a Highly Commended award for his entry, Bombora. You can view this work as well as the results of Newton’s recent residency at Myall Park Botanical Garden, a gallery of Works on Paper and images of recent sculptures shown at Townsville’s ‘Strand Ephemera’ at:

Australian Made - the Stephen Baxter survey opens next week

The major survey of Stephen Baxter works - Australian made - which stretches from 1982 to 2003 opens at Bond University’s Art Gallery next Friday October 10. Covering every aspect of Baxter’s career from ceramics to digital prints, the show runs to 31 November 2003. The gallery is on the Bond Campus, Robina, University Drive opposite the library. If you have any questions about the show, you can contact the gallery on (07) 5595 1111 or through the university’s website ( or you can preview some of the work at:

Kathryn Brimblecombe-Fox on show at SOApBOx Gallery

After a successful show last year at SOApBOx Gallery, Kathryn Brimblecombe-Fox’s latest exhibition - Here Comes The Bride - is currently showing there again until October 10. You can see the work at SOApBOx Gallery, 95 Brunswick St, Fortitude Valley - Wed-Fri, 11am-5 pm and Sat, 11am-3pm - (3257 2733). You can contact SOApBOx Gallery at and you can see a preview of the work at:

High Court Centenary entries from Olsen and Brownhall

Entries from two artHIVES’ artists - Nick Olsen and Robert Brownhall - have been sent down to Canberra for the High Court Centenary Art Prize. The opening of the exhibition will take place on 17 September and the winner is announced by Brian Kennedy on 1 October 2003.

You can take a look at the entries at: